The Team

Hayley Weeks
I am a Guide Guider in Warrington with 30th Warrington Guides. I was
fortunate to be involved in GOLD in Egypt as part of the team in 2009.
We travelled to Alexandria and had a fantastic time. I am really
looking forward to working with the Egyptian Girl Guide Association to
see how much more GOLD can do in Egypt.

I am married to Mark, who is very supportive of all the time I spend
involved in Guiding. Both him and myself are very keen Scuba Divers and
are members of our local dive club where we instruct others to dive. We
love going away on diving holidays both in the UK and abroad.

I am very excited about the potential for this year’s project and I
already know it will be a great success due to the other members of the
team and their contributions to date. We have an excellent opportunity
to represent Girlguiding UK in its centenary year, a responsibility we
are very proud of.

Have a good look round on this blog to get to know the team and also
keep updated on our progress once we arrive in Egypt on 1st October
2010. Thank you for all your support so far, we know it will make a

Rebecca Brown
I was born in London and grew up in Peterborough where my parents, my
brother, and his family still live.  I now live in Manchester with
my partner, Mark and our kittens, Audrey and Leia.

I qualified this year as a solicitor in child protection.

I am a Brownie guider and have been involved in guiding for my whole
life because my mum is also a guider. I was the first Rainbow in
Cambridgeshire West and was then a Brownie, Guide and Young Leader.

Outside work and guiding I love sport and play netball regularly for 2
teams.  My biggest sporting achievement to date is running the
Edinburgh marathon this year to fundraise for my GOLD project, in 26′
heat, hotter than the Cairo marathon!

Gemma Donaldson
I am a Brownie and Guide Guider and love international travel.  I
have been on a few Guiding international trips including to New
Zealand, Paris, Japan and India and we’re now off to Egypt for our GOLD

I read history at the University of Cambridge and following that I took
a gap year to travel in South East Asia and Africa before volunteering
at the Girl Guiding World Centre in Pune, India for six months. I now
live in Wimbledon, London and am a Guider with the 2nd Wimbledon Guides
and 10th Chelsea Brownies.  I also keep in touch with my Brownie
Pack from home in Essex and am usually the first aider on their annual
pack holiday.  I work at Hammersmith Hospital for Imperial College
London and manage the administration for the Division of Experimental

When I am not Guiding or at work I love spending lots of time seeing
friends and family and exploring London with my boyfriend Graeme. I can
also often be found making a mess in the kitchen – I love baking,
especially chocolately things!

Helen Barton
I am a Ranger Guider in the London and South East Region. I am a
qualified GP and while undergoing my medical training I have been
required to move around a bit. Fortunately I have been able to get
involved in Guiding in many different areas and before becoming a
Ranger Guider I was a Brownie and then a Guide Guider.

Some of my Guiding highlights so far have been taking Guides camping;
working towards my Queen’s Guide Award and stewarding at the conference
Business Women in the Arab World.

I live by the coast with my cat Ebony and try to see my partner Dean
regularly.  I spend some of the week caring for my Mum so see my
parents frequently. My younger sister Katy is a zoologist.

Recently I have been training for my first half marathon but before I
started running I enjoyed trampolining.

Kate Bragg
I grew up in Shropshire but have moved around a fair bit since
then!  I went to University in Durham, I then started work in the
British Civil Service in London, before moving to Cardiff and now
Brussels.  I am currently the UK’s representative on indirect
taxation in the EU – something I certainly didn’t think I would be when
I was growing up!

I have been both a Rainbow and Guide leader, and am now hoping to start
leading in a British Guides In Foreign Countries pack which will be a
completely new experience. Aside from work, I enjoy travelling (India
has been my favourite country so far), reading and cycling – one of my
greatest achievements this year was cycling from London to Cardiff
(200miles) and doing all my own puncture repairs en route!

Sarah Heynes
I grew up and have lived in the West Midlands for all of my life, so
far. I went to school here and went to University in Birmingham, twice.
I now live about 20 minutes away from the city in Old Hill, near to my
Mom & Dad and my younger sister Lisa. Not to say I’ve never been
anywhere else, I circumnavigated the globe via aeroplane, train, bus
and car in 2007, visiting amongst many places Cambodia, Vietnam and New
Zealand. I am a Girl Guide leader and have been for 10 years. I was a
guide and brownie before that and have always been an enthusiastic
advocate of Girlguiding.

By day I am a Chartered Surveyor, I work for Savills in Birmingham and
have done for 2 years. My job is primarily to acquire development sites
for the supermarket chain Tesco, which takes me literally all over the
UK searching for land. In my spare time I like to get outdoors, keep
fit and spend time seeing my friends and family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>